sabbia gallery

Ceramics, Glass + Fibre


Kirstie Rea, To flourish 6, 2024, folded glass, painted frame - wall work, 980 h x 230 w x 90mm d

Congratulations to the finalists of the biennial FUSE Glass Prize. Established in 2016, this years finalists were selected from 101 high quality and diverse entries received from artists across Australia and New Zealand.

The 2024 judges are Grace Lai, Curator of Applied Arts and Design, Auckland Museum; Aimee Frodsham, Artistic Director, Canberra GlassworksRhana Devenport ONZM, Director, Art Gallery of South AustraliaMatthew Curtis, Glass Artist and 2022 FUSE Glass Prize Winner; Brian Parkes, Chief Executive Officer at JamFactory. 

Parkes says of the judging process that, ‘this was the strongest field of entries since the prize was established in 2016 and the judges were more than a little daunted at having to select just twelve established artists and six emerging artists for the finalists exhibition. While chosen entirely on merit, the final selection still manages to showcase a great diversity in approaches to working with glass, from virtuosic glass-blowing to meticulous kiln-forming.’

Sabbia artists amongst the finalists are: Annette Blair (NSW), Clare Belfrage (SA), Hannah Gason (ACT), Kirstie Rea (NSW), Layla Walter (NZ), Mel Douglas (ACT) & Nick Mount (SA)

The winners of the Established and Emerging Categories will be announced on the 9th May 2024. The winner of the FUSE Glass Prize Established Artist Category will receive a $20,000 non-acquisitive cash prize.